Annual Assembly 2018 Non-Catastrophic Spinal Injuries:Addressing Complexities & Challenges
Save the Date:
April 11th – 13th, 2019
Conference Location:
The OMNI La Mansion, The Riverwalk, San Antonio, Texas
Hotel location:
Mokara Hotel & Spa, 212 West Crockett St, San Antonio, TX 78205. Click here for reservations.


Medical Focus:

  • Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder overview
  • Complex Regional Pain Syndrome overview and update
  • Brain Injury life care planning
  • Clinical Case Presentations with unique features i.e. electrocution injury, anoxic injury from hanging, face transplants

Psychosocial Focus:

  • Psychosocial risk factors for delayed recovery
  • Common psychiatric issues across the lifespan

Vocational Focus:

  • Vocational considerations of the disabled population and pertinence to life care planning

Education focus:

  • How the skills of Life Care Planning can be introduced to medical residents to help with their long term consideration for the medical needs of current patients

Ethical focus:

  • Dilemmas that Life Care Planners face in forensic medicine when dealing with attorneys, treating physicians

Forensic Focus:

  • Expert Witness Role
  • Jury Selection
  • Mock trial

Pain Management and Opioids Considerations:

  • How to plan for the long term needs of opioid managed patients
  • Best practices in long term opioid monitoring
  • Non pharmacological interventions for chronic pain

Medical Cannabis:

  • Legal overview past, present and future
  • Overview with a focus on long term use for chronic pain in life care planning

All topics will be approached from the standpoint of importance to life care planning.


  • Adam Locketz, MD, DABPMR, XDEA, CLCP
  • Ameet Nagpal, MD, MS, MEd
  • Andrea Bradford, MEd, CRC
  • Carlos Jaramillo, MD, PhD, FAAPMR, CLCP
  • Christopher Leber, MD, FAAPMR, CLCP
  • Chrysanthe L. Parker, EdD, JD
  • Don McGeary, PhD
  • Douglas Wayne, MD, FAAPMR, CLCP, CPLCP
  • Jack Denver, MD, FAAPMR, CLCP
  • Jeffrey Hazlewood, MD, FAAPMR
  • Joe G. Gonzales, MD, FAAPMR, CLCP, CPLCP
  • Krista Jordan, PhD, ABPP
  • Maxim Eckmann, MD
  • Patrick C. Hayes, MD
  • Philip Marion, MD, FAAPMR, CLCP, MS, MPH
  • Ray T. Khirallah Jr., JD
  • Richard Y. Cheng, JD, CHC
  • Sasha Iversen, DO, FAOPMR, CLCP, CPLCP